Ida E. King Distinguished Visiting Scholars

The Ida E. King Distinguished Visiting Scholar in Holocaust and Genocide Studies brings to Stockton on a rotating basis, for one or two semesters each year, scholars of international renown to teach about the Holocaust and other genocides and to pursue scholarly work in their field.  Faculty who teach in the area of Holocaust and Genocide Studies come from a variety of disciplines and from various schools of their universities.


Want to read more about Dr. Elizabeth Baer? Click the image above!    

  Fall 2016-Spring 2017 Ida E. King Distinguished Visiting Scholar:
Elizabeth R. Baer

Elizabeth R. Baer serves as Research Professor of English and African Studies at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota. In 2004, Dr. Baer held the position of Ida E. King Distinguished Visiting Scholar of Holocaust Studies at Stockton University in New Jersey where she taught courses on gender and genocide; she will hold this post again in 2016-2017. She has also taught courses on the Holocaust at the Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies at the University of Minnesota. Dr. Baer has published widely on women’s literature and Holocaust fiction and memoirs. Her first book, Shadows on My Heart: The Civil War Diary of Lucy Buck of Virginia, published by the University of Georgia Press in 1997, was nominated for the Lincoln Prize. Her second book, The Blessed Abyss: Inmate #6582 in Ravensbrück Concentration Camp for Women (2000), co-edited with Dr. Hester Baer, is a critical edition of a memoir originally published in Germany in 1946. She received a Fulbright Award to study the history of Jews in Germany and was the recipient of the Virginia Hamilton Prize for the best essay on multicultural children’s literature.

Click this image to read more about Lawrence Baron

 Fall 2015 Ida E. King Distinguished Visiting Scholar:
Lawrence Baron

Lawrence Baron taught Modern Jewish History at San Diego State University, where he served as Director of the Lipinsky Institute for Judaic Studies between 1988 and 2006. Baron was educated at the University of Illinois-Urbana, and the University of Wisconsin -Madison, where he earned a Ph.D. in Modern European Intellectual History. Baron is the author of The Modern Jewish Experience in World Cinema and Projecting the Holocaust into the Present: The Changing Focus of Contemporary Holocaust Cinema. He also writes for the San Diego Jewish World.

Past Ida E. King Distinguished Visiting Scholars


Click on the scholars’ names to learn more about our past Ida E. King Distinguished Visiting Scholars
Spring 2015 Dr. Nili Keren Fall 2014 Dr. Robert Skloot
2013-2014 Dr. Patrick Henry 2012-2013 Dr. Nili Keren
2011-2012 Dr. Paul Bartrop Spring 2011 Dr. Nili Keren
2009-2010 Dr. Samuel Totten Spring 2009 Dr. Joyce Apsel
Spring 2008 Dr. Dalia Ofer 2006-2007 Dr. Michael Phayer
2005-2006 Dr. Myrna Goldenberg Fall 2004 Dr. Elizabeth R. Baer
Fall 2003 Dr. Paul Mozjes 2002-2003 Dr. Dan Bar-On
Spring 2002 Dr. Yehuda Bauer Fall 2001 Dr. Hubert G. Locke
1999-2000 Dr. Michael Berenbaum 1998-1999 Dr. Dan Bar-On
1996-1998 Dr. Franklin H. Littell 1995-1996 Dr. Yehuda Bauer
1994-1995 Dr. Carol Rittner, R.S.M. 1993-1994 Dr. Henry Huttenbach
1993 Dr. Hubert G. Locke 1992 Dr. Mordecai Paldiel
1992 Dr. Mordecai Paldiel 1990 – 1991 Dr. Franklin H. Littell

General Information | Genocide Prevention Certificate | Finance Your Grad. Education
Scholarship Opportunities & More